New Album By Stormzy ‘This Is What I Mean’ Drops Today

The new album by Stormzy is the British singer-songwriter’s third studio LP

After a long wait, the third full length new album by Stormzy has been released, titled This Is What I Mean. This latest album, Stormzy’s first as part of the 0207 Def Jam family, expands on many of the themes from his first two albums.

With the exception of the title track and one or two other brief moments, there aren’t many fast-paced moments on this album; instead, Stormzy explores his opinions on how Black people are represented in the media, how expectations are placed on him, and the significance of his faith.

Along with the release of the new album by Stormzy, the artist posted a message on Instagram claiming he was motivated by Tyler, The Creator’s 2019 LP IGOR. “He shared a message with it and I wanted to do the same but I was hesitant,” wrote Stormzy. “Mainly because I would love for my music to do all the talking but I thought I’d share this message anyway.”

This Is What I Mean, according to Stormzy, is his way of honoring music and his love for it in general. He hoped fans could enjoy it on their own terms, free from interruptions.

Features on the new album by Stormzy include Amaarae, Ayra Starr, Black Sherif, Debbie, India Arie, Jacob Collier, Ms. Banks, Nao, Sampha, and tendai. Along with PRGRSHN, who also serves as executive producer, Stormzy has recruited Dion Wardle, Grades, Joel Peters, Jojo Mukeza, Juls, Knox Brown, KZ, Miles, Owen Cutts, P2J, Scribz Rile, Tempoe, and tendai for the beats and instrumentals.

Listen to “Firebabe” and the rest of This Is What I Mean here below:

Related Articles