American Black Film Festival – ABFF 2022 Winners List

ABFF 2022 winners list revealed following the Best of the ABFF Awards ceremony

The 26th edition of the American Black Film Festival was held live in Miami Beach and presented the Best of ABFF Awards ceremony, announcing the ABFF 2022 winners list. Included in the honors are its talent pipeline program consisting of national casting and writing competitions, as well as official film selection categories.

The ABFF 2022 winners list were announced by Emmy nominee Dondré Whitfield, who hosted the ceremony, while star actress Issa Rae served as the Festival Ambassador this year. A one-year IMDbPro membership was given to the 2022 Best of ABFF Awards winners, providing them with knowledge and resources to help them advance their careers.

Check out the full ABFF 2022 winners list below!

Jury Award winners:

Best Narrative Feature Our Father, the Devil
Produced by Ellie Foumbi, Joseph Mastantuono; Directed by Ellie Foumbi
Presented by Sony Pictures Entertainment
Prize: $2,500

Best Director, Narrative Feature – Kali Baker-Johnson, Feel Like Ghosts
Presented by Cadillac
Prize: $5,000

Best Screenplay, Narrative FeatureFeel Like Ghosts
Written by Kali Baker-Johnson
Presented by TV One
Prize: $2,500

John Singleton Award – Best First FeatureOur Father, The Devil
Directed by Ellie Foumbi
Presented by Netflix
Prize: $5,000

Best Documentary FeatureA Woman on the Outside
Produced by Kiara C. Jones, Zara Katz, Lisa Riordan Seville; Directed by Zara Katz, Lisa Riordan Seville
Presented by Prime Video
Prize: $2,500

Best Web SeriesMine
Directed by Randall Dottin, Luisa Dantas
Presented by Comcast NBCUniversal
Prize: $2,500

HBO Short Film AwardAnother Country
Directed by Sherif Alabede
Presented by Warner Bros. Discovery
Prize: $10,000 for winner, $5,000 each for four finalists

Talent Pipeline Program winners:

ALLBLK’s Shoot Your Shot Casting Call – Javon Terrell
Prize: Role in upcoming ALLBLK Original series Judge Me Not

Warner Bros. Discovery Writers Initiative, One-Hour Drama
Deion Higginbotham – The Saints
Prize: $5,000

Warner Bros. Discovery Writers Initiative, Half-Hour Drama
Diara Newman – Townhall
Prize: $5,000

Related Articles